JANUARY 5, 1949

The 51st Texas Legislature approves creation of underground water conservation districts under authority of Article 16, Section 59 of the Constitution of Texas and Chapter 3A of Title 128, Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes.
Read more


House Representative, I.B. Holt of Olton, authored House Bill 162, which created underground water conservation districts in Texas. This bill is sometimes referred to as the Texas Groundwater Act.

Source: Legislative Reference Library

MARCH 26, 1951

The Texas Board of Water Engineers defined/delineated all or part of the following counties as 'Subdivision # 1 of the Underground Water Reservoir, High Plains Area, Ogallala Formation, South of the Canadian River in Texas.'
Read more


They are: Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Castro, Cochran, Crosby, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Floyd, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Swisher, and Terry Counties.

JULY 9, 1951

Petition filed by more than 50 persons who hold title to land in this area asking for the creation of the High Plains UWCD # 1.

AUGUST 9, 1951

The following District Directors' Precincts were delineated during a public hearing at Plainview...
Read more


  • PRECINCT ONE: Crosby, Dickens, Garza, Lubbock, and Lynn    Counties.
  • PRECINCT TWO: Cochran, Hockley, Lamb, and Terry Counties.
  • PRECINCT THREE: Bailey, Castro, and Parmer Counties.
  • PRECINCT FOUR: Armstrong, Deaf Smith, Oldham, Potter, and    Randall Counties.
  • PRECINCT FIVE: Briscoe, Floyd, Hale, and Swisher.

  • SEPTEMBER 29, 1951

    Voters in 13 counties ratified the creation of the High Plains Underground Water Conservation District No. 1...
    Read more


  • Briscoe County and Silverton voted against confirmation.
  • Crosby County and Crosbyton/Ralls voted against confirmation.
  • Dickens County voted against confirmation.
  • Garza County and Southland voted against confirmation.
  • Hale County and Plainview/Hale Center voted against confirmation.
  • The Cities of Ropesville and Sundown did not become part of the district due to a tie vote in each case.
  • The City of Wolfforth in Lubbock County voted against confirmation.
  • Oldham County voted against confirmation.
  • Swisher County voted against confirmation.
  • Terry County voted against confirmation.
  • No votes cast in the portion of the City of Amarillo within the district.
  • The portion of Amarillo in Randall County voted against confirmation.

  • NOVEMBER 5, 1951

    Precinct One: E. C. Hatton, Precinct Two: A. C. Chesher, Precinct Three: Jesse M. Osborn, Precinct Four: Tom McFarland, Precinct Five: Tom Bostic

    JANUARY 21,1953

    Senate Bill 30 ratified, confirmed, and validated the designation of the High Plains Underground Water Conservation District No. 1...
    Read more


    SB 30 was introduced by Corbin Hazelwood, and Rogers of Childress, Texas.

    MAY 22, 1967

    One-quarter of Hale County joins HPWD. (Precinct Two- Petersburg)

    JANUARY 6, 1969

    One-quarter of Crosby County joins HPWD.

    APRIL 02, 1988

    The remaining portion of Crosby County, above the escarpment, joins HPWD.

    AUGUST 08, 1992

    The remaining portion of Cochran County joins HPWD.

    AUGUST 08, 1992

    The remaining portion of Lynn County joins HPWD.

    AUGUST 14, 1993

    The remaining portion of Hale County joins HPWD.

    JANUARY 15, 1994

    The remaining portion of Bailey County joins HPWD.

    NOVEMBER 2, 2010

    The northwest quadrant of Hockley County joins HPWD.

    NOVEMBER 2, 2010

    The southwest quadrant of Lamb County joins HPWD.

    NOVEMBER 2, 2010

    All of Swisher County joins HPWD.